BLOG – Behind The Illusion complete, uploading later this week.

As the title says, my documentary about young mentalist Chris Rawlins is complete and has been screened at my university. The tutors didn’t offer much feedback, so I’m choosing to take that as a good sign. I wanted to upload it straight away but I kept forgetting my memory stick so it will have to wait til I get back to York. I can hopefully get it up on friday, I know Chris is excited to see it. I would love it if people could take a look at it once it’s up. I’m really happy with it, although the post-production experience wasn’t as stress-free as it could have been, but I think I’m coming to realise there’s always going to be a lot of stress in this job, but I think I can just deal with it, it’s so worth it when you get to work on projects that you love.

Now my focus is shifting to my next project, a film I’m directing separate from my university ones. We have a great concept and a good team assembled. It’s probably the film that’s closest to the kind of films I enjoy and always dreamed of making. The basic idea focuses on getting into the head of a video game character and hearing their shock an confusion at being controlled by an outside force. It’s going to be set in a fantasy kind of video game like Fable or Oblivion, so it should be fun for me and my production designer, who is also my housemate. Unfortunately we have no budget for this as it is completely independent, so this should definitely be interesting. It’s in the early stages, the script is being written up and we’re currently looking for actors.

It’s being made for a short film competition and has to have a running time of less than 3 minutes! Not long at all. But we have a nice little complete story with a nice punchline at the end. I’m excited for this ball to start rolling!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

