Blog Post – 2012 so far

There is my documentary, Behind The Illusion. It’s been done for quite a while now and I did post it up on the social media but forgot to place it on here, but here it is. Would love to get people’s thoughts on it, I’m very happy with it. Currently having to write a critical portfolio about it, which gets marked for my degree.

Speaking of my degree, I recently chose my final year modules. I chose to study Fiction in both semesters, which will leave me with a “Film Production” degree. Most people seem to be mixing and matching with their modules but I really want the opportunity to focus on this as it is what I’m most passionate about and what brought me here, because I love films. I’ve really been enjoying documentary but I now feel confident that I could make them now if the oppertunity arose, I’m not sure how much more I would learn about them from the course.

So, new projects. Unfortunately my university has decided that we shouldn’t take part in side projects during term time, so my short film for the short competition, which was set in a video game world, has had to be postponed. It’s a shame because we were all getting excited about the idea and we had a complete treatment done which was pretty much ready to be a script. It is sort of ridiculous as they advertised the oppertunity to undertake side projects as an advantage of the course, but oh well. We have thrown around the idea of taking the project on once the terms end, so that is an option.

Our next documentary starts filming next week. I’m working on a documentary all about twins and triplets and I’m going to be the editor. It’s basically about people’s perceptions of multiples and how they actually all are different, independent people as well as the difficulties in bringing up multiples. It’s exciting because I’ve realised I really enjoy editing and am learning some tricks to make it a lot easier in our technical workshops, which is good. Have some good ideas about title effects and some 24-style split screen things going on. I don’t think we have an official title yet, but I’m liking ‘Multiple Minds.’ Catchy.

As well as that, things are moving on the film that we will be filming after Easter. I’m production designer for that. The film involves online dating, so I will have the chance to play around on computers making up profiles and messages, should be fun.

The Big Sofa

Outside of university, I have an exciting new opportunity next week. There’s a thing called The Big Sofa and a woman involved in it, Diane Myers, came into university to do a guest lecture. She left information on how to apply to work on The Big Sofa, and I did. It’s basically a really interesting project where you can log into the website, search for anything and it will provide you with footage of somebody being interviewed that subject and you can take clips of that for yourself, perfect for presentations or just for the knowledge itself. I’ve applied to be one of the conversationalists as I have experience interviewing people. They have invited me to a training day in Leeds next Friday and also to filming next weekend in Manchester. I would mainly be observing and helping gather people on the streets, but if I do well they say they will invite me back for more training and I could even get payed for it. Very exciting. I’ll let you know how it goes šŸ™‚

Also because I’m pretty sad I’m also sad about the Oscars which isn’t far off now. Supporting The Artist all the way! Such a good movie. I also wish Bridesmaids would get a little love.

The Artist

Leave a Reply

